Celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the IEEE Magnetic Society in Spain

This year, the annual meeting of the Spain Chapter took place at the facilities of IMDEA-Nanociencia, Madrid, on 20-21 November. Like in previous years, the meeting has been organized in collaboration with the Sister Society “Spain Magnetic Club” (CEMAG), with the additional sponsorship of IEEE Spain Section. Although it is usually a one-day event, in commemoration of the anniversary of the foundation of the IEEE Magnetic Society the program has been extended to last for two days. Scientific talks included: Prof. Hans-Benjamin Braun (University College Dublin and Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Magnetics Society 2014) "Topological Effects in Nanomagnetism: From Perpendicular Recording to Monopoles", Prof. Rodolfo Miranda (Director of IMDEA Nanociencia) "Tailoring magnetic functionalities in epitaxial graphene", Dr. Miriam Varón (Technical University of Denmark) "Dipolar Magnetism in Ordered and Disordered Low-Dimensional Nanoparticle Assemblies" and Prof. Albert Fert (Université Paris-Sud + Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/THALES) "Spin-orbitronics, a new direction in spintronics". The appealing scientific program attracted a large audience, which left no empty seat in the auditorium, and favored lively discussions between participants throughout the two days.

During this event, Prof. Juan Bartolomé (Aragón Materials Science Institute) received from CEMAG the Salvador Velayos Award, as recognition of the scientific achievements during his career. 

By Victorino Franco, Spain Chapter Secretary/Treasurer